People's Newsroom

Bangladesh are champions at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2022

Women's T20WC Qualifier 2022

Bangladesh lifted the title at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2022 on Sunday beating Ireland by x runs in a thrilling final, although both teams have already qualified to play in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa next year.

3rd place play-off: THAILAND v ZIMBABWE

Toss: Thailand opted to field

Result: Zimbabwe won by 7 runs

Thailand v Zimbabwe Scorecard

Put in to bat, Zimbabwe’s top four got starts, but couldn’t go big as Zimbabwe posted a below-par total on board. Sharne Mayers and Kelis Ndlovu put on an impressive opening stand of 46 runs before the former was dismissed. Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano gave Zimbabwe some much-needed acceleration with a 27-ball 39. Zimbabwe put on 118/6 eventually, a total that proved to be less than sufficient.

In the run chase, Thailand put on a 76-run opening stand with Nannapat Koncharoenkai and Natthakan Chantham playing some crisp strokes and giving Thailand a strong platform.

Ndlovu eventually broke the stand by dismissing Chantham, and added two more wickets to her tally to put pressure on Thailand. Reduced to 92/4, the onus was on skipper Naruemol Chaiwai to take Thailand home with the required run rate soaring.

In the end, the target proved to be a bit away as Zimbabwe won by seven runs after a good final over from Nomvelo Sibanda.

7th place play-off: UAE v USA

Toss: USA opted to bat

Result: UAE won by 10 wickets

USA v UAE Scorecard

Chasing 118 for a win, UAE openers Esha Oza and Theertha Satish put on a half-century stand, but the duo was dismissed in quick succession as USA came back into the contest. With the middle-order unable to keep up with the rate, USA was in with a chance to register their first win in the tournament. 

Khushi Sharma was run out for 23 in the penultimate over and USA were favorites to win the contest with UAE still more than 10 runs away from a win. 

But Natasha Cherriath and Samaira Dharnidharka held their nerve in the final over as UAE made 11 runs to win the game and the tournament on a high.

5th place play-off: SCOTLAND v PNG

Toss: Scotland opted to bat

Result: PNG win by 8 wickets

Scotland v PNG Scorecard

PNG sealed an eight-wicket win over Scotland in the fifth-place playoffs in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2022. Scotland put on 168 batting first with skipper Kathryn Bryce making an unbeaten half-century. 

In response, PNG lost just two wickets as Tanya Ruma and Brenda Tau put on an unbeaten century partnership to take PNG home with eight balls to spare.

Bangladesh v Ireland Scorecard

Choosing to bat first in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier finals, Bangladesh posted a par 120 onboard helped by Fargana Hoque’s 61 off 55 balls. Only one other Bangladesh batter managed to make double digits as Ireland produced an eye-catching bowling display.

Fargana made just over half of the team runs from the top of the order, but the lack of support and the regular fall of wickets at the other end meant that she could not quite accelerate much as Bangladesh finished on 120/8 batting first.

Skipper Laura Delany starred with the ball for Ireland with 3/27 while Arlene Kelly and Cara Murray took a couple of wickets apiece.

In reply, Sanjida Akter and Nahida Akter reduced Ireland to 24/3, taking out the cream of their top order. Delany and Eimear Richardson tried to put up a fight, but Bangladesh struck again to sink Ireland further.

It was Kelly and Murray that injected late momentum into the Ireland innings, taking them from 76/8 to within a touching distance of the target. The partnership gave Ireland hopes of a title win at the qualifiers, but 15 runs off the final over was still a huge ask, and they eventually fell short by 7 runs.


Toss: Bangladesh opted to bat

Result: Bangladesh won by 7 runs

Back to top button